Auto Club Speedway INDYCAR Test Open to Public



~ Bring your ticket, purchase a ticket or make a donation and see today’s INDYCAR stars prepare for MAVTV 500 ~

SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY, Calif. (Aug. 27, 2012) – The stars of the IZOD IndyCar Series will be out in full force, shaking down their cars at Auto Club Speedway on Wednesday, Sept. 12 in preparation for the MAVTV 500 INDYCAR World Championships on Saturday, Sept. 15 under the lights.

The test is open to the public from 5 pm – 8 pm with viewing from the East end of the open-air Terrace Suites above Pit Road. The garage area and Pit Road will not be accessible during the test.

For access to the test, fans must enter the Speedway at the main security gate at 9300 Cherry Ave and:

· Present an already purchased ticket to the MAVTV 500 at the tunnel prior to entering the infield;
· Purchase a ticket at the tunnel prior to entering the infield (tickets start as low at $30) or;
· Make a $10 donation (per adult) to the Auto Club Speedway Foundation (at the tunnel prior to entering)

Children 12 and under with an Auto Club Speedway Lefty’s Kids Club membership will be admitted free to the test session. To register for a free Lefty’s Kids Club membership, visit

Coke-product soft drinks and Dasani water will be available for fans for purchase during the testing session.

INDYCAR drivers expected to take part in the test include:

Ryan Briscoe (No. 2 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet)
Helio Castroneves (No. 3 Penske Truck Rental Chevrolet)
JR Hildebrand (No. 4 National Guard Panther Racing Chevrolet)
Scott Dixon (No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
Dario Franchitti (No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet)

Ed Carpenter (No. 20 Fuzzy’s Vodka / Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet)
Oriol Servia (No. 22 Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet)
Marco Andretti (No. 26 Team RC Cola Chevrolet)
James Hinchcliffe (No. 27 Team Chevrolet)
Ryan Hunter-Reay (No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Chevrolet)
Graham Rahal (No. 38 Service Central Honda)
Simon Pagenaud (No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports Honda)
Simona de Silvestro (No. 78 Nuclear Clean Air Energy Lotus HVM Racing Lotus)
Charlie Kimball (No. 83 NovoLog FlexPen Honda)

· Driver participation subject to change without notice

For the first time in seven years, the thrill, excitement and speed of the IZOD IndyCar Series returns to Auto Club Speedway where the world speed record for the fastest lap of 241.428 mph was set in 2000 – and still stands today.

The nighttime spectacle includes Castroneves, Dixon and this year’s Indianapolis 500 winner Franchitti along with high-profile owners Roger Penske, Chip Ganassi, A.J. Foyt and Bobby Rahal who will all visit Southern California’s premier motorsports facility with the intense competition, high-energy show scheduled to be run at night under the lights.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: